Architects: from Lanfranchi to Alfieri @ Palazzo di Città

Of Francesco Lanfranchi from Ada Peyrot, Vittorio Viale, Immagini di Torino nei secoli, Torino 1973

explore the map

Architects: from Lanfranchi to Alfieri

Designed in 1659 and completed in 1663, the building was narrower than the current one and without the elevation of the clock. In the second half of the 1700s it was enlarged and remodeled on the basis of an overall redesign of the square by Benedetto Alfieri. Two spans are added for each side of the façade, which join the rest of the porticoed square, and the two lateral wings on via Garibaldi and via Corte d'Appello.

The original drawing by Francesco Lanfranchi (1659) and the façade revised by Benedetto Alfieri in a print of 1817 which presents the building inserted in the square designed contextually

Share on:
short URL:

License