The consecration of the Roman walls

In 1999, an archaeological site was opened along the Roman walls, between Palazzo Reale and Palazzo Madama (where the Royal Gallery that divided the Piazza was located until 1800). We find a unique plant, with 4 large amphorae now preserved in the Museum of Antiquities, linked, it seems, to a rite of consecration of the walls, occurred after 50 AD.

The photo shows the open excavations, later covered with glass sheets that allowed (badly) the vision and then covered permanently, marking the area with paracarri.

Share on:
short URL: